From a free 30-minute exam to a £4,000 five-day programme at King's College London, AI governance credentials in the UK test different things. Here they are side by side.
AI Governance Certifications and Courses in the UK, Compared by the Role You Are Training
By James Cotton · Last updated · 14 min read
Part of our topic guides on AI Governance & Data Strategy and AI Skills for Business.
By James Cotton, Founder, iO-Sphere
What Ofqual's register holds
On 8 October 2026, when we read every course page and price quoted here, we searched all 52,976 records on Ofqual's register of regulated qualifications: 74 titles mention AI, and none of them also contains "govern". Nor are IAPP, ISACA, PECB, BSI, CertiProf, QA, the Chartered Governance Institute, or the universities and online providers below, awarding organisations on it, and no title contains "AIGP", "lead auditor" or "lead implementer".
BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, has 137 records as an awarding organisation, but its only AI-titled ones are apprenticeship assessments for two standards, Level 7 AI data specialist and Level 4 AI and automation practitioner. Its Foundation and Essentials certificate pages say they are "not regulated by" Ofqual, Qualifications Wales, CCEA Regulation or SQA: a body on the register does not put every course it sells there.
Regulated AI qualifications do exist, and the nearest to governance are about leadership. City & Guilds' Level 5 Award in Responsible Leadership with Artificial Intelligence became operational on 18 September 2026 and is assessed by practical demonstration or assignment. The Chartered Management Institute has Award, Certificate and Diploma versions of Level 7 Strategic Leadership of AI and Level 5 Leading AI Transformation, plus Level 3 Managing AI Adoption.
ETCAL's Level 1 Award in Ethical use of Artificial Intelligence and an AIB Level 3 award in AI concepts, ethics and applications are also on the register. None of these titles contains "governance", and the register carries no prices.
Who is accredited to certify what
UKAS, the United Kingdom Accreditation Service, accredits two kinds of body in this field: those that certify people, under ISO/IEC 17024, and those that certify an organisation's AI management system against ISO/IEC 42001, the standard for such systems. A course page that says "accredited" could be pointing at either.
IAPP's certification candidate handbook (version 5.3.2, effective 1 June 2026) says its CIPP/E, CIPP/US, CIPM and CIPT credentials are accredited by ANAB, the American National Standards Institute National Accreditation Board, under ISO 17024:2012. It adds: "The IAPP AIGP, CDPO, CIPP/A and CIPP/C certifications are not accredited by ANAB but still follow the same rigorous policies and procedures to ensure they meet the same high standard of quality."
PECB, a certification body for people, has its ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Implementer and Lead Auditor in the scope of its UKAS schedule of accreditation (reference 21923, issue 007, 27 August 2026), which accredits PECB to ISO/IEC 17024:2012 "to provide certification of persons". The schedule names no training course or partner. PECB's accreditations page also lists 17024 accreditation from IAS and COFRAC.
On the organisation side, UKAS's directory listed five accredited certification bodies for AI management systems on 8 October 2026: LRQA Limited, BSI Assurance UK Ltd, NQA Certification Ltd (trading as NQA Certification and KIWA), ISOQAR Limited and TUV UK Limited. UKAS announced on 15 January 2026 that it had granted BSI "the first accreditation for certification of artificial intelligence (AI) management systems to ISO/IEC 42001:2023".
So BSI appears twice in this guide. Its Training Academy sells ISO/IEC 42001 courses, and BSI Assurance UK Ltd certifies organisations' management systems; the UKAS accreditation belongs to the second and covers no course.
In September 2025, the Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) said in its trusted third-party AI assurance roadmap: "There are existing certifications that can demonstrate competencies in AI assurance. However, it is difficult to ascertain their quality, and none are issued by UKAS-accredited organisations." The roadmap was writing about AI assurance; the PECB schedule above is dated 27 August 2026.
The same roadmap pointed to "a future professional certification or registration scheme for AI assurance", adding that "AI auditing could be a useful starting point for professional certification". In June 2026 DSIT convened an AI Assurance Stakeholder Consortium, led by BCS, to "support the development of a recognised AI assurance profession".
Sharron Gunn, BCS's chief executive and the consortium's vice chair, said in BCS's announcement: "our duty is to create an AI Assurance profession which is proud to adhere to a Code of Ethics and, ultimately, to hold world-class registrations and certifications."
The credentials, role by role
Each table below takes one role, with the same three columns. Prices are as each issuer's page displayed them, in that page's currency; where a page gives no VAT or tax wording, neither do we, and "not stated" means the page is silent on the point.
If the choice is still between formats, our guide to choosing an AI governance course starts there, and AI governance careers in the UK shows where these roles lead.
Someone who must audit
| Credential and issuer | Assessment | Price as displayed; validity |
|---|---|---|
| Advanced in AI Audit (AAIA), ISACA | 2.5 hours, 90 multiple choice; 450 to pass on a 200 to 800 scale. Entry needs CISA or a listed audit or accounting designation | US$459 member, US$599 non-member, plus a one-time US$50 application fee; at least 10 continuing education hours (CPEs) a year, 30 over three years, and an annual fee (US$20 member, US$35 non-member) |
| AAIR (AI risk) and AAISM (AI security management), ISACA | Exam; entry needs a held credential (for AAISM, an active CISM or CISSP) | US$459 member, US$599 non-member |
| Certified ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Auditor, PECB | Four days' training, then a 3-hour multiple-choice exam on day five, 80 questions, 70% to pass; free retake within 12 months | No price on pecb.com; valid 3 years, with an annual maintenance fee and continuing professional development (CPD) |
| ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Auditor course, BSI Training Academy, 4 days live online or classroom | Not stated | £2,585 plus VAT; validity not stated |
| ISO 42001 Lead Auditor, CertiProf | 1-hour online proctored exam, 40 multiple choice, 80% (32 of 40 correct) | US$180; valid 3 years |
ISACA's exams add AI to a credential the person already holds, and 33% of the AAIA exam is "AI Governance and Risk"; for a CISA holder we would shortlist the AAIA first. To audit against ISO/IEC 42001, we would shortlist PECB's Lead Auditor, whose certification sits inside PECB's UKAS scope.
PECB awards that certification at a grade set by experience. The exam alone earns the lowest grade, and each of the three grades above it needs more hours spent on audit activity: 200, then 300, then 1,000.
Someone who must implement
| Credential and issuer | Assessment | Price as displayed; validity |
|---|---|---|
| Certified ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Implementer, PECB | Four days' training, then a 3-hour multiple-choice exam on day five, 80 questions, 70% to pass; one free retake within 12 months | No price on pecb.com, which says exam and certification fees are in the course price; valid 3 years, with an annual maintenance fee and CPD |
| PECB's Lead Implementer through QA, 4 days virtual | PECB's 3-hour exam, included; PECB's agenda puts it on a fifth day | From £3,010 plus VAT |
| ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Implementer course, BSI Training Academy, 4 days | Ends in BSI's Lead Implementer certificate exam; format and pass mark not stated | £2,600 plus VAT; validity not stated |
| ISO 42001 Foundation Professional and AI Management Professional, CertiProf | 40 multiple choice, 60 minutes, 80% to pass | US$150 each; valid 3 years |
| ISO 42001 AI Governance Fundamentals, CertiProf | Free exam: 20 questions, 30 minutes, 60% to pass | US$50 for the certificate and badge after a pass |
BSI also runs a two-day ISO/IEC 42001 implementation course at £1,565 plus VAT, live online. For the person who will build and run the management system, we would shortlist PECB's Lead Implementer, for its published exam and its place in PECB's UKAS scope.
Passing PECB's exam alone makes a Provisional Implementer. The Lead Implementer grade the course is named for needs five years' experience, at least two of them in AI, and at least 300 hours of project activities.
Someone who must advise the board
| Credential and issuer | Assessment | Price as displayed; validity |
|---|---|---|
| AIGP, IAPP | 100 multiple choice, some scenario-based; 2.75 hours plus a 15-minute break; 300 to pass on a 100 to 500 scale | Exam US$649 member, US$799 non-member. Two-year term; renew with 20 credits plus a US$250 fee or membership (US$295 a year) |
| AIGP course, QA, 2 days virtual | IAPP's exam after the course, via Pearson VUE; voucher included | From £2,415 plus VAT, with 12 months' IAPP membership |
| Certified Responsible AI Governance & Ethics Professional, EC-Council, as listed by QA, 3 days virtual | 3 hours, 100 multiple choice, pass "between 70 and 80 percent" (QA's page) | From £1,999 plus VAT, exam included |
| AI Governance Series, Chartered Governance Institute UK & Ireland: four live online modules | Exam not stated; attendance certificate and digital badge | £1,050 member, £1,150 professional subscriber, £1,350 non-member, each plus VAT (series rate) |
| AI Governance Leadership Programme, King's College London, 5 days | Not stated | £4,000 full price; £3,400 for King's staff, alumni and students |
| AI: Law, Policy and Governance, LSE: six weekly modules plus an orientation week | Method not stated; LSE certificate of competence | £2,420 tuition |
| Certificate in AI Governance & Compliance, Georgetown University: 6 weeks on Zoom | Module assignments and a capstone; 32 contact hours | US$2,995 tuition |
IAPP's own online AIGP training (US$995 member, US$1,195 non-member, the equivalent of 13 hours live) ends in a certificate of attendance, as CGI's series does; the AIGP itself comes only from passing the exam. CGI's series is written for "governance professionals, company secretaries, board members, and senior leaders".
Where the adviser needs a tested credential to show, we would shortlist the AIGP. Where they need working documents, King's has participants build an AI governance blueprint, procurement and vendor-assurance materials and risk-management documentation aligned with ISO and the NIST AI Risk Management Framework; its ideal participant has 2 to 5+ years of experience in their field.
An introduction for anyone
| Credential and issuer | Assessment | Price as displayed; validity |
|---|---|---|
| Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence, BCS | 1-hour closed-book exam, 40 multiple choice, 65% to pass | £200 including £35 remote proctoring, VAT added at purchase; no expiry stated |
| Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence, BCS | 30-minute closed-book exam, 20 multiple choice, 65% to pass | £160 including £35 remote proctoring, VAT added at purchase |
| Foundation Certificate in the Ethical Build of AI, BCS: 12 hours in total | 1-hour closed-book exam, 20 multiple choice and 10 multiple response, 65% to pass | £450 plus VAT; no expiry stated |
| Six short courses and an Executive Certificate, London School of AI Governance: about 3 hours each | 25 questions, at least 40% scenario-based; 80% to pass, up to three attempts | £29 founding price each (£45 also shown); Executive Certificate bundle £149 founding price (£225 also shown) |
| Strategic AI Governance Specialization, Coursera: a 9-course series | Specialization certificate; carries no university credit | No price shown on the page |
| Professional Certificate in AI Governance, LSBA | Assignments or quiz | £140 fast track (1 month), £90 standard (2 months) |
The BCS titles are about AI in general, though the Ethical Build certificate, written for "anyone involved with designing or developing software that uses AI", has a module on "Data privacy, governance and policy in AI". The London School of AI Governance says its certificates "are not academic degrees, diplomas or government-recognised qualifications". Someone new to the subject can start with what AI governance covers.
Beyond these tables, QA also lists a Certified Lead AI Risk Manager (4 days, £2,985 ex VAT), a Certified AI Programme Manager (3 days, £2,500 ex VAT), a Certified AI Auditor (4 days, £3,200 ex VAT) and a Certified ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Auditor (4 days, £3,010 ex VAT), at the prices and lengths shown on 8 October 2026.
The person who does governance work every day
Skills England's apprenticeship standards, which set out a job's duties, knowledge, skills and behaviours, include an AI and automation practitioner (Level 4), an AI data specialist (Level 7) and a governance officer (Level 4), but none titled AI governance. The standard whose title covers information governance is ST0967, Data protection and information governance practitioner, at Level 4.
Version 2.0 of ST0967, with a revised assessment plan, applies to starts from 9 September 2026. Its end-point assessment, the graded assessment of the apprentice against the standard's five outcomes, must include at least one project; any other method comes from a set list that includes a professional discussion and a portfolio. The grades are pass and distinction.
Six assessment qualifications for ST0967 are available to learners, from five awarding organisations: BCS, Accelerate People (with two), Summit Qualifications UK, Safety Training Awards and Training Qualifications UK. So the assessment is itself a regulated qualification on Ofqual's register.
None of the standard's duty, knowledge, skill or behaviour statements names AI. The nearest is a duty to keep procedures, policies and guidance "updated in line with technology advancements, legislative and social changes", so how much AI a programme on ST0967 teaches depends on the provider. The standard carries professional recognition from the Information and Records Management Society (individual member grade) and BCS (associate member grade).
Find Apprenticeship Training listed 10 training providers for ST0967 on 8 October 2026. Its funding band, the ceiling on training and assessment costs that funding covers, is £10,000.
Within it, the employer's share is set by the apprenticeship funding rules for August 2026 to July 2027 from the apprentice's age and whether the employer pays the levy, a charge on employers with a pay bill over £3 million; our guide to apprenticeships for existing employees works through the sums.
A leader who sets governance without running it day to day has a funded option too. Three AI leadership apprenticeship units, funded blocks of training of at least 30 hours at Level 5, were approved for delivery on 21 April 2026: AI strategy and opportunity, AI adoption, procurement and governance and AI delivery and organisational transformation.
The governance unit's outcomes include designing "AI governance frameworks, including roles, responsibilities and escalation pathways". It is for employed people aged 19 or over in a leadership position "with autonomy to deliver technological change and inform investment decisions". The training provider delivers a skills test and the employer validates the result; an employer or learner may add an independent external assessment, such as a non-mandatory qualification.
| Route | How it runs and is assessed | Funding and the employer's share |
|---|---|---|
| ST0967 apprenticeship, Level 4, from any of the listed providers | End-point assessment with at least one project; pass or distinction; a regulated qualification | £10,000 band; the employer's share depends on the apprentice's age and levy status |
| AI leadership units AU0009, AU0010 and AU0011, Level 5 | At least 30 hours each; provider's skills test, validated by the employer | Up to £750 a unit; the employer's share depends on levy status and the learner's age |
| Data & AI Governance (Level 4), iO-Sphere, on ST0967 | 15 months of training, then a 3-month end-point assessment; weekly coaching sessions online | As the ST0967 row |
For the person who will do governance work every day, we would choose an ST0967 apprenticeship: its assessment, in data protection and information governance, is a regulated qualification, which no certificate in the role tables is, and it is funded; the AI governance is what the provider adds within it. Our guide to the data protection and information governance apprenticeship covers the standard in more depth, and funded data governance training the other funded routes.
We deliver the Data & AI Governance apprenticeship on ST0967 and teach AI governance within it; our Data & AI Strategy apprenticeship shares the standard by design. Data & AI Governance is for anyone whose role holds data governance duties, from the people who own information governance to the analysts and data management, data quality and engineering people picking that work up.
What employers asked for, and what the EU asks for
Most UK employers interested in AI training wanted it to cover keeping information safe and private, in a 2024 survey Ipsos ran for DSIT, which our guide to AI upskilling for a whole workforce reports.
For a UK organisation the EU AI Act reaches, the European Commission's AI literacy questions and answers (last updated 27 July 2026) say: "There is no need for a certificate. Organisations can keep an internal record of trainings and/or other guiding initiatives."
Article 4(1) of the AI Act, as amended by Regulation (EU) 2026/1744, requires providers and deployers of AI systems to "take measures to support the development of AI literacy" of their staff, and says the obligation "does not require providers or deployers to guarantee any specific level of AI literacy of any individual". The UK's position is set out in our register of UK AI regulation in 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Is the AIGP on a UK register?
No. IAPP is not an awarding organisation on Ofqual's register, and the accreditation IAPP's handbook describes is ANAB's, which the AIGP does not hold. In the UK, QA runs a two-day virtual AIGP course that includes the exam voucher. IAPP's in-person calendar listed no UK AIGP session on 8 October 2026; the closest was Brussels on 16 to 17 November 2026 (EUR 1,395 member, EUR 1,595 standard).
Does ISO/IEC 42001 certify a person?
No. ISO/IEC 42001 certification is for an organisation's AI management system, and UKAS says accredited certification is for organisations that want to show "that their AI management system has been independently assessed by a competent and impartial certification body". What a person can hold is a personal certification about the standard, such as PECB's or CertiProf's, or a course certificate, such as BSI Training Academy's.
Can the levy pay for any of these?
Yes, for two: an ST0967 apprenticeship and the AI leadership units. Under the apprenticeship unit funding rules (August 2026: version 2), a non-levy employer pays nothing for a unit. A levy payer short of funds pays nothing for a learner aged 19 to 24 on a unit starting on or after 1 August 2026, and 25% of the £750 maximum (£187.50) for a learner aged 25 or over.
Is there a free AI governance certification?
No certificate compared here is free, but one exam is: CertiProf's ISO 42001 AI Governance Fundamentals can be sat at no cost, with unlimited attempts, and the certificate and badge cost US$50 after a pass. Coursera's FAQ says its specialization cannot be taken free, and BCS sells single Ethical Build modules at £36 each including VAT, though buying modules singly does not let a learner sit the exam.
Want to own AI governance in your organisation?
Our Level 4 Data & AI Governance programme builds the frameworks that make data trustworthy and AI accountable, funded through the Growth & Skills Levy.